top of page


Korean-Australian Soprano Mariana’s international performances include Cio-Cio-San (Madama Butterfly) in the Royal Albert Hall in London, Finnish National Opera in Helsinki and throughout China, Micaela (Carmen) in Taipei, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony(with Riccardo Chailly) and Rossini’s Stabat Mater in Italy. Also, She performed Beethoven's Ninth Symphony with the KBS Symphony Orchestra in Seoul, Korea.  Cio-Cio San has become Mariana's signature in demonstrating her exceptional versatility as an actress and singer in bringing to life this demanding role.


Mariana graduated from Seoul’s Han-Yang University with a bachelor's degree in vocal and opera music. She obtained a diploma in opera performance with high distinction from the Conservatorium of Milan and the Vercelli Academy in Italy. She was invited by Maestro Richardo Chailly to join his Ninth Symphony by Beethoven while attending the Conservatorium.  Under the baton of Maestro Riccardo Chailly and Romano Gandolfi, she performed as a Soprano soloist in Milan and throughout Italy in Rossini’s Petite Messe Solenelle, Poulenc’s Gloria, Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, and Rossini’s Stabat Mater.


Since relocating to Australia, Mariana has performed many of the major lyric soprano roles with Opera Australia, including Mimi (La Bohème), Liù (Turandot), Cio-Cio-San (Madama Butterfly), Pamina (The Magic Flute), Countess (The Marriage of Figaro), Fiordiligi (Così fan Tutte), Donna Anna (Don Giovanni), Giulietta (I Capuleti e i Montecchi ), Alcina (Alcina), Lauretta (Gianni Schicchi), Leila (The Pearlfishers), Micaela (Carmen), Genovieffa (Suor Angelica), Dorinda (Orlando), Freia (Das Rheingold), Helmwige (Die Walküre) as well as special performances as Micaela(Carmen) in Taipei, Cio-Cio-San(Madama Butterfly) for Opera Australia on China Tour. She has also performed Zerlina (Don Giovanni), Mimi ( La Boheme), Cio-Cio-San (Madama Butterfly), and Liù (Turandot) for Opera Queensland and Cio-Cio-San (Madama Butterfly) for State Opera South Australia.

Mariana has been a soloist for Carmina Burana with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Beethoven's Ninth Symphony with the KBS Symphony Orchestra in Seoul, Korea, Missa Solemnis with Sydney Philharmonia and Auckland Choral Society, Mozart’s Requiem and Verdi's Requiem as well as numerous concerts and recitals in Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, and Canberra.

She has worked under noted conductors, including Riccardo Chailly, Richard Hickox, Patrick Summers, Johannes Fritzsch, Guillaume Tourniaire, Pietari Inkinen, Andrea Battistoni, Oliver Gooch, Jakub Hruša, Jonathan Darlington, Andrea Licata, and Muhai Tang.


Mariana won the Australian Singing Competition’s prestigious Opera Award and the MBS Young Performers Award in 2002. She was nominated for the Helpmann and Greenroom Awards in 2008 and 2009.




bottom of page